A Lump of Clay

Potters WheelAs children we used to make things in a wax, called Glitterwax. The idea was to take time in softening it in our warm hands, then fashion delicate ornaments like flower petals. Later our creations could be used again to make something even better, but the wax had to go through the same softening process first, otherwise the hard petals would just break into tiny pieces.

I  want to remain soft and pliable. What I often call being soft in the heart and hard in the head! Hopefully I’ve come to recognize the signs of starting to become brittle, like being intolerant, snappy or controlling for example. You could say that in trying circumstances this is excusable, but this isn’t the Jesus way.

No matter where we are in our Christian walk, whether newly awakened or a seasoned traveller, it’s a journey of daily surrendering to God. Surrender is the way in, the way forward and the way out. The problem is that it goes against our nature to let go and give over, so at times we can get stuck and start to harden. I have found it really scary, even terrifying to let go of the last vestiges of my agenda or my security or whatever I am clinging onto. But God will do everything in His power to keep us on course – but always waits for our yes.

Father
I want to be me
I want to be getting on
but I don’t seem to be moving
Things are getting in the way
I’m really trying to move in faith
to be making a difference in this world
but things are diverting me away from working for you
from following the path I thought you’d mapped out for me
But it’s hard Father, in fact some days I just feel like a lump of clay
getting nowhere

Son
I know the longings in your heart
I see how hard you try to follow Me
But I’ve allowed these ‘things’ you talk about
to change you and get you moving to where you long to be

But Father
It’s risky and I’m frightened
I don’t really know where you’ll take me

Son
Just yield to Me and
let Me have My way with you
Take your hands off and be that clay
in My warm and gentle hands and allow Me
to work in you and make a difference
Trust me
I gave My life for you

“So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel.  But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him.” Jeremiah 18:3-4

Leave a comment

Filed under bible, Christian, Christianity, Jesus, personal

Leave a Reply

