What Are You Thinking?

thinkingI was once asked “What do you think about most of the time?” I didn’t answer directly because I felt challenged, so went away and thought about it.

I am somewhat predisposed to turning things over in my mind, but when that goes on and on without closure, I call it worrying.

When I became an operations manager for our local water company I was on call 24/7 and found it difficult to switch off and let it all go to God. This was especially so during the longest and biggest drought in our area for decades. I didn’t know  where to go to get away from it all. Yes, it was a highly pressured job, but later, when I worked from home for a year or so,  I found that some of the pressure came from within me, and discovered I made my own stress. I became so immersed in my work, I didn’t know when to stop and when I did I was still thinking about it.

If there was a problem at work, a project at home, trouble with the car or financial difficulties, whatever, I was prone to carrying it along in my mind to try and solve it. I soon found however, that it wasn’t until I really let go of it, that the solution appeared, as if from nowhere.

I came to realize this sort of behaviour pattern, that so drains us of energy,  needs a disciplined – not one of my favourite words – approach. Think the matter through, do what you have to do, if that’s appropriate and then leave it, drop it, let go of it to God, put it into Jesus’s basket and He will whip it away with a smile, so that we can focus on Him.

I almost know these verses below off by heart, but they came back to me this week afresh and I felt challenged.  As we enter into the deep heart knowledge that God cares for us to the ultimate, we come to live it out, knowing that He really will look after us in every way possible. The enemy knows this and will do everything he can to divert us and get us to put our energy into self preservation or anything that’s not God’s agenda for us.

As we surrender to God and demonstrate our commitment in action – I believe there’s a difference between surrender and commitment – Father steps in with absolute provision and the result is a deep peace within. We flow rather than be driven.  I voiced this to a minister once, who said we are only human, so cannot expect this to happen every day! Well, I’m still learning, but I expect it and prefer to believe in the truth and potential of what God says in His Word.

“Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? –  If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?  –  your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:27-34 New International Version

5 Comments

Filed under Christian, Jesus, lifestyle, personal

5 responses to “What Are You Thinking?

  1. Well, I’m still learning, but I expect it and prefer to believe in the truth and potential of what God says in His Word. I think that attitude is great. I need to learn to live in expectation of what He CAN do in my life if I let Him! Thank you.

  2. wayfarerjon

    Yes it is great Mike! If I didn’t believe in a God of the impossible, I’m not sure where I would be today! And thank you Mike for being the first to comment after my blog changeover.

  3. YEAH focus on what the Word of God says not on what the world or any situation would shout at us.

  4. And oh voting for you in blogtoplist! You deserve it! God Bless you!

  5. There’s a good ebook that’s free to help pastors and their wives with discouragement and burnout. You can find it at
    http://www.stoppastorburnout.com. It’s quite helpful.

Leave a Reply

