Knight in Shining Armour?

tn_soldier.jpgDo you have a picture in your mind how you see yourself? Perhaps as a child you dreamed how you would like to be, or has it got dulled by life’s cares and covered over by years of everyday routine?

This is a boyhood image of one aspect of me, that began to be re-awakened in latter years. It’s a picture I hold in my heart of a chivalrous knight in shining armour, who slays dragons and rescues damsels in distress. Not always like that I can assure you. There have been many times when I have crept into a cave and licked my wounds.

I believe however that it is a godly scriptural image, how God would have me be. The difference is, that the battle is not against people but against the enemy’s arrows that often fly thick and fast. I’m learning to fend off the lies and taunts such as “You will never make it,” or “It’s hopeless,” or “Just lie down and give in,” or “Who do you think you are?” The other difference is of course, that I don’t have to be strong. I may be weak, but God has all the strength I need. That is a real eye-opener, it’s life-changing! So I may have chronic fatigue, but I am determined that the illness will not have me!

1 Comment

Filed under Christian, Christianity, chronic fatigue, disability, healing, illness, Jesus, lifestyle, personal, spiritual

One response to “Knight in Shining Armour?

  1. treadmarkz

    Keep that dream alive! Keep the armour on! Stay strong. I have a friend who has CFS, and she recently became the first person to get umemployment from her previous employer without a lawyer involved. Stick to your guns and do what you have to do.

Leave a Reply

