Father’s Touch

tn_boy-and-hands-2.jpg

This is a pencil sketch I did, based upon an old magazine cutting that really caught my imagination.

This is a pencil sketch I did, based upon an old magazine cutting that really caught my imagination.

The boy is looking directly into the adult’s eyes – let’s assume it was his father – and it’s clear he sees total loving acceptance. See how his father gently touches the boy’s cheek and places a reassuring hand upon his shoulder.

It’s as if his father could be saying:

I am really proud of you
I’m so glad you told me this
I’ve often felt the same
There’s no need to feel shame
I know it’s hard for you at the moment
but you’ll come through
You are doing so well
and I am with you all the way.

I know I am an adult but there have been times when the fatigue has threatened to overpower, and I have wondered how much more I could take, when I have need to hear similar words from my Father God. They spur you on, lift the shame, encourage and empower.

4 Comments

Filed under art, artist, Christian, Christianity, chronic fatigue, creativity, family, healing, health, illness, M.E., personal, relationships, spiritual

4 responses to “Father’s Touch

  1. FreeFromItAll

    Beautiful…simply beautiful. Validating is so important, even if one has to learn to validate oneself.

  2. wayfarerjon

    I agree. We need to encourage ourselves, even if nobody else does!

  3. healthiacynthia

    I love this– and the picture– take a good look at the hands– they’re a Grandfather’s hands!

  4. gothiquefae

    Beautiful

Leave a Reply

